Delay on, Delay off

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by JohnSD, Aug 12, 2011.

1. JohnSD

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 12, 2011
    Guys,

I am very new to building circuits and I am attempting to build a delay on/delay on circuit. I am operating a solenoid that will draw up to 1.4 amps at 12 volts. I want the curcuit to:

-Delay power to the solenoid for an adjustable time from a 1 to 60 seconds with an accuracy of +-1 second once a switch is thrown.
    -Continue powering the solenoid for an adjustable amount of time 1 to 60 seconds once the switch is placed to the off position with the same accuracy.
    -Be inexpensive, sturdy and reliable.

I have attached my first cut. I bread boarded this circuit and it did not do what I needed it to do. Any thoughts? I am not wedded the 555 for this project.

2. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    First of all connect the RESET input of the 555 to the power supply's +. Otherwise it's disabled.

Is the first delay supposed to be given by the combination of RC at the base of the trigger input transistor? What's the voltage at the upper pole of the 2k pot?

Even if it worked with the ON delay transistor I doubt it will be as reliable as the 555 timer (and won't give you exactly the same delay). You might consider using only 555's.

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Well, the 555 timer is only accurate to within ±2.25% initially, and drifts more over temperature, so if you need 60 minutes within 1 minute, that's 1.66% accuracy. The 555 isn't going to meet your specifications. You'll need to either go to a microcontroller that will stay better than 1% accuracy, or use a crystal oscillator - the latter will be much more accurate.

4. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    I got this from an (old) app note from Philips:
    "The 555 and its complement, the 556 Dual Timer, exhibit a typical
    initial timing accuracy of 1% with a 50ppm/C timing drift with