Degree of difficulty for novice to build a DC-DC converter?

smp375

Joined Mar 21, 2009
I'm a novice with electronics. I have a basic understanding of principles and components, I know how to solder, and can read a schematic but I have to look up some of the symbols. I would like to build my own DC-DC buck converter for a project I'd like to undertake. Vin 12vdc Vout 4vdc (+/-2V), and I would need the device to be able to handle 30amps. The unit would be used to power an electrolyzer. I'm curious what the degree of difficulty would be to source parts and assemble a unit, for a novice like me. Any insight and advice would be appreciated.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Nobody has proven that adding HHO to a car engine does anything except burn and destroy the valves and pistons.
The car's emissions management computer gets all mixed up.
When the mechanic who tests emissions sees your modifications then he is taught to fail the car without testing.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Do yourself a favor and search the forum for threads related to HHO / Meyer.

You will find some people spent a large amount of money for nothing.

If you would like to repeat their experience, that's fine, but please save yourself a lot of time and money by spending a bit of time reading the results from people that weren't trying to sell you something.

smp375

Joined Mar 21, 2009
Yes, this would be for a car; and it would be for an HHO system. I'm no fool, I've been a mechanic for nearly 20 years, I know my way around engine management systems, and know how to avoid catastrophic engine failures. Also, I'm not interested in anything anybody is selling, nor do I listen to any of the ridiculous hype promising me 50mpg for $200. I'm only doing research right now. If I choose to test a system I'll build it myself, and do so in a scientific manner.