Decimal <-> Binary, multiple digits?

Shiwayari

Joined Feb 28, 2009
I recently started learning about logic circuits. I'm mainly researching because of my own interest and don't know much yet, so go easy on me :)

So, the question:
Let's say I have a 10-bit adder and want to Input decimals and also want to get back decimals.
I found some explanations on how to encode/decode to/from binary, but none mentioned what I do with 'carrys' in the decimal numbers.
I know how to encode for example decimal 9 to binary: I'll get a 4digit binary number and make a truth table to get my functions.
But what do I do if I want to encode decimal 10 to binary? Do I just have to make an insanely huge truth table and get huge functions or is there a better way?
The same applies for decoding: I can decode 1001 to 9 easily, but how do I get 10 out of 1010?

For the 10-bit adder, I could have a decoder with 10 bit input and 1024 outputs for each single decimal number, but that can't be it, right? So how do I get the single digits of a decimal out of or into a decimal number?
I think I would get 40 outputs, 4 decimal digits with 10 bits (for 0,1,2,..,9) =?

I hope that was understandable, english is not my main language and I don't know many scientific words =/

Last edited:

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
You are working in Binary Coded Decimal (BCD), as opposed to binary. In BCD, only the values of 0 - 9 are valid. Here is a link to a BDC adder - http://tams-www.informatik.uni-hamb...bdemos/20-arithmetic/10-adders/bcd-adder.html.

Your binary value 1001 is BCD 9. As the remaining states are also valid, we can use Hexidecimal, that uses the letters A, B, C, D, E and F to represent them;

Bin Dec Hex
0000 0 0
0001 1 1
0010 2 2
0011 3 3
0100 4 4
0101 5 5
0110 6 6
0111 7 7
1000 8 8
1001 9 9
1010 X A
1011 X B
1100 X C
1101 X D
1110 X E
1111 X F

Shiwayari

Joined Feb 28, 2009
Thanks, that was exactly what I was looking for.