DDS module, checking/measuring quality of sine wave across frequency range

ninjaman

Joined May 18, 2013
hello

I have an AD9850 DDS module from ebay. the cheap one. I want to use it to generate a sine wave with frequency from 1-30MHZ. I have to write a technical spec or list of measurable for a project at college. my tutor is making this a little difficult for me as im a student and not qualified engineer. I don't know what kind of things to include in the list of measurable. I have looked at other low cost antenna analyzers to find their technical spec which is something like the following
frequency generation and control:
  • 1-60MHz
  • source impedance 50 ohms
  • stability +/- 100ppm
  • spectral purity harmonic down >- TBD dB beyond 60MHz
usable measurement range
  • SWR 1.0 to 9.99
  • impedance approx. 5 to 2000 ohms
RF output
  • adjustable 2.0 volts pp (typ)
power supply
  • external 13.8 to 19 volts DC, 500mA
  • internal; 8xAAA 1000mAh NiMH cells
  • charging time 12 hours (charge rate 0.1c)
controls
  • pushbuttons (5) mode, band, config, scan, up, down
  • switch, power on
connectors
  • RF out BNC
  • usb mini b receptacle
  • external power 2.1mm power jack (centre pin positive)
this is the technical spec. my tutor wants me to write things like I will measure this.... and whatever it is. so if I have a source impedance of 50ohms how will I measure it. I thought it would be ok to use a ohm meter.
but I have a few problems.
the DDS module is the main one. comparing the frequency output with the display frequency. that shouldn't be too difficult. I would measure the frequency output and compare that by. output divided by display. I think this will give percentage error after x100.
then the quality of the sine wave, on here it says stability and spectral purity. I don't know how to measure these things, I found this and now don't know what im doing

upload_2014-10-28_13-2-54.png