Dc ups

haseebhm

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Hello Everyone!
I want to make my own small UPS for my home network equipment(ADSL MODEM + WIFI ROUTER). I am a student of Engineering but not Electronics. Just have basic knowledge and I know how to make a circuit etc but can't design it. I have found much help from internet in this regard and here's the image of the circuit I found the most suitable. Please check the circuit and suggest whether it will be fine.

1. Which type of battery should I should use?
2. would It prevent overcharging ?
3. How can I make it automatically switch off when battery voltage drops?

Source: http://www.beigebag.com/case_ups1.htm

rs14smith

Joined Feb 19, 2010
1. Which type of battery should I should use?
2. would It prevent overcharging ?
3. How can I make it automatically switch off when battery voltage drops?
I'm in the same boat as you man when it comes to designing. But I know external things you can use based on your question.

As for the battery, I'd suggest going with a Deep Cycle battery so you can fully drain the battery without damaging it unlike a Car Battery.

For the overcharging, again this is external but just something to think about, you can use a Charge Controller. These are fairly cheap as well depending on how many Amps it can handle.

For your last question, I'm not sure what you mean when the voltage drops. Do you mean when the battery is fully charge, how to switch off the UPS so it will stop charging the battery? As if the voltage drops, I'd think you'd want to turn it off, but then again, I'm not sure exactly what you want to do with it.

Again, most of what I listed here is external components, but as far as making one huge circuit to do all this, I have no idea. If you can figure out how to build a charge controller, you'll be one step closer. But they are so cheap I wouldn't even bother building one. :)

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
I have done this. Was working fine until the battery suddenly died!