DC to DC voltage Doubler

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by emmy, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. emmy

    emmy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    22
    0
    Hi,

    I have a requirement for 3 stages of a project which I am upgrading.

    Stage 1 - Take a 12V 7Ah battery and double the voltage,

    Stage 2 - Charge a capacitor with the 24V result of stage 1

    Stage 3 - use the stored voltage in the capacitor and send a pulse (min 4msec) using an SCR or Triac or ????.
    This stage will need to be repeated up 32 times as 32 different lines will need to have a pulse sent. so 32 individual SCR's etc.

    The pulse amps must be more than 800mA.
    Most basic Circuits possiable as they need to be robust.

    I currently perform this task with just the battery and a lots of toggle switches but the pulse is not as good as it could be, distance can be a problem. Several other systems use the description as above but are very expensive to purchase so I am going to try to build my own. (or try to)

    I have approached it in these stages as I can improve the model as I go.

    So there you have it any help would be great.

    Best Regards

    Emmy
     
    #1
  2. mrmeval

    mrmeval Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    833
    2
    LM2586 will do the doubling and seems simple
    http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM2586.pdf#page=23

    For the capacitor charging you'd need to monitor current flow to the capacitor, this can be done with a low ohm resistor. When the current stops flowing you then trigger your discharge device.
     
    #2
  3. emmy

    emmy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    22
    0
    mrmeval,

    Looks great thanks for that.
    My only question is on the stats page 23 to be exact it states only .6A @ 24V
    I require an absolute minium of .8A @ 24V is there some way I can do this with this device. If I can't get the Amps the thing won't go bang.
    ps I am fireing fuse heads for (fireworks)
     
    #3
  4. emmy

    emmy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    22
    0
    mrmeval,

    You have put me on the right track.

    LM2588 will do the job I think.
    I will invest in the componets tomorrow and see if I can get it working.
    The move to stage 2

    Thanks
     
    #4
  5. mrmeval

    mrmeval Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    833
    2
    No problem. I saw the 5amp one but thought the 3amp would work. Do you read that as not producing 3amp? Oh, BTW I am getting an RSS feed and for some reason did not see your response I'm not sure why. Guess I should check on email notification. :(
     
    #5
  6. beannie

    beannie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    1
    0
    The site that you reffered to him is good but it could only range from a minimum input of 5V to be multiplied or doubled (I saw on that page..). I'm having difficulty with my project., I only have a minimum DC input of 0.6 up to a maximum of 4.5V dc. how can I ever multiply our double its voltage rating?? please help..
     
    #6
  7. emmy

    emmy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    22
    0
    #7
  8. Bernard

    Bernard Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    3,605
    315
    As I understand it ,800mA is firing current and is determined by cap size , charged V, & cap & line resistance, not power supply current rating. Power supply is disconnected from cap. at time of firing? I designed and used cap. discharge "blasters" using early SCR's around 1957.
     
    #8
Loading...