DC power and BNC/coax cables

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by someonesdad, Mar 30, 2011.

1. someonesdad

someonesdad Thread Starter Senior Member

I've been using coax cables with BNC connectors for over 40 years. I use them a lot for power connections to DC power supplies (convenient with a BNC female to dual banana plug adapter), but I wondered what I should limit the current to. Since I couldn't find any usable information on the web (it's probably out there somewhere; I just didn't find it), I made some measurements last weekend. Results in attached file (also at http://code.google.com/p/hobbyutil/).

Bottom line: I'll run my cables all day at 5 A, occasionally go up to 7.5 A, and once in a while when needed I might go to 10 A.

Attached Files:

2. studiot

studiot E-book Developer

British UR cable designations have the following central core sections

UR \ \ \ Inner (in)

43\ \ \ 0.032
    57\ \ \ 0.044
    63\ \ \ 0.175
    67\ \ \ 7/0.029
    74\ \ \ 0.188
    76\ \ \ 19/0.0066
    77\ \ \ 0.104
    79\ \ \ 0.265
    83\ \ \ 0.168
    85\ \ \ 0.109
    90\ \ \ 0.022

Sorry don't have the american RG series equivalents to hand.
  3. Papabravo

Papabravo AAC Fanatic!

A useful rule of thumb is 700 circular mils per ampere.
  4. mcgyvr

mcgyvr Senior Member

5. someonesdad

I looked at extrapolating from both NEC-specified current densities as well as some data I have from MIL-STD-975 (which is based on wire with 200 deg C insulation in a hard vacuum). But note MIL-STD-975 doesn't include convective cooling, so using it for wire in air will likely be conservative.

Fundamentally, the problem is a heat transfer problem, so things like orientation, coax cable insulator type, room temperature and airflow all come into the equation.

To avoid going to the library, I just did a relatively easy experiment and now I know what works for my cables. :p
  6. Papabravo

Papabravo AAC Fanatic!