DC Motor Wiring Problem

abbefaria

Joined Nov 20, 2011
Let me preface this by saying that I know very little practical stuff about hooking up motors. I'm a final year undergraduate EE student, and although I'm pretty good with motor theory, working with actual motors is very different.

What I have is a Fasco 24V, 4.94A DC sealed ball bearing motor (Model 7104-0424, type 04). I cannot find any documentation, from the manufacturer or otherwise, online. Out the back are two wires, black and red, and then welded to the side is a small metal box with a variable control knob on its face. This box has a green wire coming from it. I know this motor is probably too small to worry about starting circuits. I have a DC power supply that was used previously to run this motor, but I have no knowledge of how it was hooked up and have no way to find out, either, which is unfortunate.

I have tried the following wiring combinations, in the order listed. I was careful to bring the voltage up from zero to 24V slowly, which I hoped would help avoid any burn-out in starting or blown fuses (don't know if this helps or not...).

• Red Wire -> Positive Terminal, Black Wire -> Negative Terminal, Green Wire -> float
  • Red Wire -> Negative Terminal, Black Wire -> Positive Terminal, Green Wire -> float
  • Red Wire -> Positive Terminal, Black Wire -> Negative Terminal, Green Wire -> Power Supply Chassis Ground
  • Red Wire -> Positive Terminal, Black Wire -> Negative Terminal, Green Wire -> Negative Terminal
  • Red Wire -> Positive Terminal, Black Wire -> Negative Terminal, Green Wire -> Positive Terminal