DC motor options

willy_d

Joined Aug 6, 2010
Hi,

I am wanting to measure the torque produced by motor under a dynamic. The only constraints i have is that the power supply is DC, the motor needs to be able to supply around 1Nm of torque and i want to keep a reasonably constant speed of around 80-100 rpm...

I am current using a simple brushed dc 12v Drill motor fitted with a speed control. i am measuring the current and voltage and by calibration i have found a relationship between power and torque..

i have been told that a brush less DC could be better option as the speed can be controlled more accurately and torque computed more easily??

Or has anyone seen motor packages with a load cells fitted to the stators so that torque can be directly measured???

i am pretty new to all this sort of stuff so any help will be appreciated.. even if you could just point me towards some good shops or websites to check out.

i am purely looking for the simplest and most robust solution, cost is not too much of an issue.

Thanks, willy

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I am wanting to measure the torque produced by motor under a dynamic.
i am measuring the current and voltage and by calibration i have found a relationship between power and torque.
I am confused. By power, I assume you mean the input power. How did you measure the torque?

How big a motor are you talking about? At what speeds will you be operating? Can you put something like a propeller on the motor shaft for a load?

John

willy_d

Joined Aug 6, 2010
thanks for the reply John

The motor needs to be able to supply around 1Nm of torque and i want to keep a reasonably constant speed of around 80-100 rpm
Yip, by power i meant the power input. I have done a de prony brakes test to find relationship between input power the torque output, characteristic of the motor.