DC Motor Help

Judith335

Joined May 20, 2011
Hey Everyone,

I got a DC motor that I want to use in a little project of mine but I am not very experienced in DC motors. I would greatly appreciate a little direction on what kind of motor this is and what signals it will need to move/control it. Obviously no one will know exactly about power/pin assignments but I am just looking for some direction. I attached 2 pics of it. It has a 7 pin connector on it.

Once again thanks for your help.

Attachments

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
right now it is a disassembled motor.

It has a rotor and rotor windings, but we cannot see the outer part. The Stator is what it is called. It might be magnets, or it could be more wire coils. You did not show that part. I'm going to assume it is magnets, since I think you would have shown it if it had lots of wire coils inside.

Automotive origin? 12 volt DC driven then. The extra pins in the connector will go to the commutator(the small stripped copper ring above your thumb in the first picture.)

Most likely places the coils in parallel, or series to control speed, or there might be electronic components hidden beneath that area that comprise a PWM or voltage divider network.

Need more info....

Judith335

Joined May 20, 2011
Thanks for the quick reply.

You were right in your assumption that there are magnets in the housing and that its 12VDC automotive. I included that picture.

I also did a pin out on the connector. The connector is a 8-pin connector with the 4th pin not attached.

Pin 1 --> Commutator
Pin 8 --> Commutator

Pin 2 looks to be a common with it showing 18.7K thru pins 5 and 6, and 1.9K thru pin 7.

Pin 5 to 6 is 37.4K
Pin 5 to 7 is 20.6K
Pin 6 to 7 is 20.6K

That's the only connections I could find though with nothing on pin 3.

Attachments

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
So right now, all you need to do is.

1. put it back together. :)

2. Apply 12 volts to pins 1 and 8.

3. Mount it in your project.