DC Motor Control Project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mmazzuc1, Oct 2, 2012.

1. mmazzuc1

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 2, 2012
    Hi Guys,

I am a mechanical engineering student and am trying to set up a DC motor to use for my capstone project. Unfortunately, we do not get any hands on experience at my school, so I am trying to get some guidance...

I need to open and close a valve to about 30lb-in (480 oz-in) of torque. In order to fully open the valve, it will need about 10-15 revolutions on whatever geared shaft that is attached to my valve. I am not really concerned with any position or speed control other then the valve needs to be completely open or completely closed (480oz-in).

Requirements:

Closes to 480oz-in
    10-15 revolutions = Open
    Low Power Consumption
    Low Cost
    Open/Closes once a week so there is very little run time.

I was thinking that since my requirements of 10-15 revs = open is not tight, I should be able to keep my design open loop, and just have the motor run for a certain time that will produce those resulting number of revolutions. Then I would like my motor to close and be able to shut off my motor at a certain level of torque (480lb-in). I would think that I could just have some sort of current controller that is defined by Current=Torque/Kt.

Since the motor will not be running very much, motor degragation isnt really an issue. I would think this type of control would be good for a cheap brushed /gear head motor. However if anyone has any recommendations as to why something would work better, Im all ears.

Does this sound like I am taking the right approach here?

Thanks!!!

2. cork_ie

Oct 8, 2011
    Your idea is great but you have one slight problem - the current drawn by the motor starting up will be much higher than the running current.