DC Ground Questions

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by franklinmknight, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. franklinmknight

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Ok, I know this is a complete and total noob question, but what is the difference between the different DC grounds? I know of there's and earth, chasis, and signal ground. From the way I've always understood it the negative line was considered ground.

Thanks in advance,

-Frank

2. BillB3857

Feb 28, 2009
    For what seems to be a simple question, you have opened a real can of worms. Some systems may have multiple grounds. Like you said, there is chassis ground which is a safety with a line back to earth. It will prevent hazardous voltages from being present on the chassis in the event of component or wiring failure of the unit. The third prong on an electric drill power cord is an example. Within the circuits, depending upon what is involved, there may be power grounds to handle the return power for heavy loads like solenoids, high wattage heaters or lamps, etc. You then have logic ground which will be solidly tied to the negative bus of the logic power supply. It may be isolated from the Power ground to reduce the effect of noise upsetting logic functions. Then there is analog ground. Likewise, it may be isolated from all the other grounds in order to keep current flow within the other grounds from introducing small offset voltages into the analog reference. The strange part is that in some installations, all of the grounds may end up being tied to a common point near the primary power supply. I invite others to jump in with their explanations.. BTY, what is ground on an airplane in flight??

3. franklinmknight

Jan 3, 2010
    The thing is what do you tie your ground to if it doesn't go to the chasis or the negative power supply pin? I read something about a high value resistor, because ideally a ground has infinite resistance.

4. BillB3857