Data Transmission long distance

cwojack

Joined Apr 8, 2007
I am new to this process and at 60 years old I am able to learn new things but I have a problem.

I have a project that requires the transmission of an image, that was triggered by a specific event, a long distance. (aprox 30 miles) The line of site is fair to poor. The question is what products are available and should I use a single board PC. Also power is a consideration (I am sure that this is normal).

Is there a simple way for me to learn how to program this or is there a open source app that will, with modification of course, do the job or some place I can find data transmission apps?

I also need a fast high resolution image for identification purposes.

Any Idea would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
What other parameters can you supply? By "line of sight", are we to imagine the mode of transmission is by microwave RF? Do we assume you can't send the image by landline, like the internet? And what constitutes "fast, high resolution" (what's the image size, DPI, and what is the minimum time to transmit the image?).

cwojack

Joined Apr 8, 2007
What other parameters can you supply? By "line of sight", are we to imagine the mode of transmission is by microwave RF? Do we assume you can't send the image by landline, like the internet? And what constitutes "fast, high resolution" (what's the image size, DPI, and what is the minimum time to transmit the image?).
This could be in a hilly area with trees. Internet transmission would take place at a base receiving station that would be connected to the net.

19200 bps or greater as the size of the image files could be rather large. The system with the camera would need to be able to store multiple images until they all are transmitted. Images would be taken from 60 to 150 ft and be able to capture data on a 5' X 7" sticker after plowing up the image.

Chuck

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004