Data logger

CurlyBen

Joined Jan 11, 2008
Hi guys, I'm involved with a small racing car and it'd be really useful to record some data about it to help us with analysis of its performance. Unfortunately we're on a very tight budget (we're students) so we can't afford an expensive off the shelf job! I'm interested in putting something together myself but I'm a mech eng student so not really sure where to start! If anyone can point me in an appropriate direction to start doing some research I'd be very grateful. We'd probably be looking at something of the order of 8-10 inputs, sampling of 1 or 2hz (more for some and less for other inputs), on board storage for about half an hours worth of data and probably wouldn't need better than 8 bit sampling (more would be nice but not vital). A GPS log would be fantastic (I have one which can output on bluetooth or NMEA over serial) but I suspect that's a step too far. It would need some kind of timing to keep everything in step, and other inputs would be analogue. It would be nice to have an option of triggering outputs from the logger too but again I think that might be too much.
Any thoughts?
Cheers
Ben

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Have a look here:
http://www.st.com/mcu/
ST Microelectronics has quite a line of microcontrollers, a number of them are specific to automotive. They have uC's with RAM up to 832KB.

Register on their site, and have a good look around. After you've registered and read the introduction, start here to look at their mcu's:
http://www.st.com/mcu/

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
If you are looking to get up and running quickly and are not hell-bent on designing your own hardware, there is a thriving industry of manufacturers of ready-to-wear multi-channel data loggers. Here is one distributor that markets a line of different data-loggers tailor made for the individual looking to gather data then later download the collected data for post-analysis where it can be sliced and diced to your hearts desire.