DAQ and signal generation project

finne

Joined Jul 29, 2013
Hello! I've thought about building my own DAQ and signal generation hardware and software. It's probably hell and alot of work but I've thought about how expensive National Instruments equipment and Labview are so I thought I'd attempt to make an open source version. But much simpler of course. If I fail, which I probably will, then I've surely learned alot anyway.

First of all I'm thinking about what computer-hardware interface to use. USB would probably be simple, the regular parallell port wouldn't reach the speeds necessary I think. But microchip (I have some experience of PIC programming) don't seem to offer any equipment and help in USB 3.0 development. That would be awesome since that speed would definately be nice to have right from the start instead of building on usb 2.0 and then wanting to add speed later. Anyone know if microhip plan to release USB 3 demo boards sometime soon? Otherwise PCI-E is an option but I suspect thats not an easy one.

Software-wise I'm not thinking of making a new labview but rather som type of system where inputs can be connected to functions which the user can edit and connect to eachother. Like the icons in Labview but without the graphics.

Both oscilloscope-functionality and signal generation should be there. And at as high frequencies as possible of course ;)

Am I asking the right questions here? I'm sure there are lots of more stuff I should think about before doing anything.

Of course cost is a priority. USB 2 will do if anything else would make the components cost more than say 300$.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
If I fail, which I probably will, ...
What kind of attitude is that?

Firstly, define your objectives with specifications.
You want to output a signal:

Frequency range?
Number of samples per second?
Voltage range?
Resolution or number of bits?

Do the same thing if you want to digitize an incoming signal.