Custom Sunroof Module

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meesen

Joined Dec 9, 2012
Hi guys

I'm currently trying too design a circuit too operate a sunroof i have installed in my Project car but i also want it too be universal so other people could use it, only thing is i have limited knowledge of circuit design...

The roof simple works off a single motor with polarities switched too go in either direction.

The desired result would be too have 3 presets "closed" "open" and "popped". thinking that all that is needed is a button too be pressed sending a signal for the desired amount of time in the correct direction,

I was thinking a 555 timer circuit with trim pots too adjust the time to different models would be great... but sadly i am only learning about them now.

Anyone keen too lend a hand or point me in the right direction?

Regards,
Meesen

(Hope this meets the forum rules as it is not in any way modifying the cars circuitry)

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Isn't your sunroof motor going to be powered from your car's battery? I don't see a way to not classify this under car modification.

Meesen

Joined Dec 9, 2012
Yes this will be running off a 12volt source such as a car battery but is only in a car that is for show only and i do not see how this breaches forum rules as it will not be Automotive as the car has no running gear...

For the sake of it: it could be a simple 12volt circuit lighting up 3 different leds for different duration's, same thing but stepping around the whole "Automotive modification"

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
I'm assuming this will be the entire control circuit for the sunroof?

If so, you'll need an H-Bridge w/current sense for controlling motor direction (and optionally, speed). You'll need the current sense to stop the motor if the load suddenly increases.