Custom Keypad with Display

petro13

Joined Aug 21, 2015
Hi, i'm a complete novice regarding electronics, so please bear with me.
I want to make a keypad with a display that will control an electronic lock. I'm talking about a typical 4x4 security keypad and a simple 4-digit display, but i want the keypad to act in a different way. For example, the unlocking code is 1234, but the code numbers (that will be displayed on the screen) will not correspond to the numbers on the keypad, instead they will follow different rules, for example: 1 = 8,2 pressed in succession, 2 = 6, 3 = 4,1,5 pressed in succession etc.
I would like to know how hard would be to build such a device, and a general idea of how should i go about it, as i'm pretty sure i won't be able to do this myself.
Thanks in advance.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Yeah, should be pretty easy with Arduino. Just take Arduino microcontroller+keypad+lcd. Microcontroller receives input from keypad, based on the input it produces user desired value (number or letter or whatever), then sends the value to the LCD.

To produce desired value you will probably use several if statements.
If 1 received from keypad, send 8 to lcd.
If 2 received from keypad, send 6 to lcd.
etc.
This is the logic of the operation, the code would look something like this:
Code:
if(keypad_value==1) {lcd.print("8")}
if(keypad_value==2) {lcd.print("6")}

KerryJB

Joined Dec 17, 2012
Hello there Petro!

Given the example you mentioned, it sounds like entering the full 4-digit unlocking code could result in as many as 12 digits being displayed on the screen. (Unless you're thinking of having the user-entered digits "scroll as you go" or something.) Does that sound right? If so, I suggest a 12x1 display like the KTM-S1201.

From here on I'll assume that you plan to use an Arduino or other microprocessor...