Current / Voltage source

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by MartinV, Jun 2, 2011.

1. MartinV

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 2, 2011
    I am new to this part of physics (electrotechnics) and I am finding it a bit confusing to get the point of these components of a circuit. So I would be very grateful if someone could explain these (even shortly) their functions.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    A constant voltage source, also known as a voltage regulator, attempts to provide a steady voltage as the load changes. It is said to have low impedance because changing the current that flows does not change the voltage very much.

A constant current source attempts to always have the same current flowing through it, no matter how much voltage is applied, as long as there is enough voltage to operate the current source, but not enough to destroy it. A constant current source can have very high impedance and is sometimes used as a load, in place of a resistor, because it allows enough current to operate the idle current of the amplifier, but refuses to change current when AC is applied to it.

Good start?

3. MartinV

Jun 2, 2011
    How does the voltage source affect the current flow? I read something about about the voltage source making potential differences that make the electrons (current) move opposite of the electrostatic field, and I was quite confused by that.

4. Adjuster

Dec 26, 2010
    There are real-world systems, such as just described, which approximate to current and voltage sources. On the other hand, in circuit analysis these items are often considered as idealised abstractions.