Current thru green wire ground

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by marcf, Mar 25, 2015.

1. marcf

Thread Starter Member

Dec 29, 2014
    I realize causing current to flow thru the green wire ground in 120vac systems is a big no no, but....

I recently saw a schematic diagram that may lead someone who does not know better to do this by connecting the project up to a 3 wire wall outlet.

What are some of the consequences of doing this. I am not an electrician. Just wondering.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    In American homes, the green wire is connected to the white wire at the circuit breaker box. Amateurs will never realize they violated the safety scheme until they get hurt. This is why electricians were invented.

That being said, no matter what schematic you saw, it can not be fool proof. There is no limit to the ingenuity of fools.

More specifically, the current going through the green wire will cause a voltage to be developed on it. That voltage will be present on the metal case of anything plugged into that circuit. It usually only causes a tickle, and only if bare feet on concrete. The problem is: At the moment the circuit breaker should be blowing, the barefoot boy is getting killed.

3. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    In my country we have 240 V 50 Hz single phase distribution to outlets around our homes. Active, Neutral and Earth are available at any outlet. The MEN (Multiple Earthed Neutral) system is widely adopted.
    If I build any apparatus inside a metal enclosure & which is mains powered from such an outlet, I always bond the exposed metallic parts to Earth and ensure an intentional contiguous Earth connection is made between all exposed metal surfaces irrespective of whether they are mechanically fixed together or not.
    I'm not violating any code - rather I'm adhering to it.

4. Hypatia's Protege

Distinguished Member

Mar 1, 2015