Current Mirror For Parallel LEDs

Discussion in 'Digital Circuit Design' started by Gamer91, Sep 23, 2016.

1. Gamer91

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 23, 2016
    All,

I'm new to hobbyist level electrical engineering, and need some help.

I'm designing a circuit to power high power leds, instead of individual drivers and I want to power several in series/parallel.

I am using a design I found on the net, it's a current mirror, but also has protection for open circuits so that one string doesn't get
    all the current if the other string opens.

The way it's supposed to work. Pnp transistor Q1 is supposed to protect the LEDs on the right side, if an LED were to open on the left, because D1 will stop the flow of base current from pnp transistor Q1. Npn transistors Q2 and Q3 protect the LEDs on the left side, if an LED were to open on the right side, because there will be no current flow through the bases of npn transistors Q2 and Q3.

The issue I'm having is when I set this up in LTSpice, and open one side, all 750ma flows through the opposite side, not working like it's supposed to is this a problem in spice or did I do something wrong?

[​IMG]

Thank you!

2. Gamer91

Sep 23, 2016
    Correct photo, other one was an older one with an incorrect diode, sorry.

[​IMG]

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    There is something wrong with that circuit. I can't figure out why it's supposed to work.

Gamer91 likes this.
  4. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    When you build this, where do you plan to get a constant current source to power it? Most people use batteries or a voltage regulated supply.

With a constant 0.75a current supply, where do you expect the "other" 0.375 amps to go when you kill one string? Of course the voltage supplied to Q1 will get jacked up until 0.75 amps are forced through it no matter what happens.

Gamer91 and #12 like this.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010