Current detection

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mark3722, May 14, 2015.

1. Mark3722

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 26, 2014
    Hi All,

I am a beginner in Electronics with enough knowledge to be very dangerous. :)

I have an application where I need to measure the current consumed by 4 separate DC devices using the same single 5V/5A bus. i.e. I need to see the current consumed by each device from an Arduino. My idea was to configure a low ohm (0.1 ohm) shunt resistor in the positive line going to each device and then detect the voltage change going over each of the resistors using ohms law to calculate the current.

To sense the current, I was considering using something such as Maxim 44284 low current power sensing amplifier: http://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/MAX44284.pdf.

A couple of questions for everyone:

- Assuming there is enough current capacity in the 5V bus, would there be any issues with pulling and measuring current from 4 separate parallel devices?
    - For each shunt-resistor, I am assuming that I can just use Oms law for the calculation of current. i.e. I = Measured Voltage across shunt/0.1 Ohms.
    - I will be using an Arduino for this app and hence the usage of an IC to measure the voltage across the shunt made sense. I was also considering using it without such a device but struggling to determine how to wire things up. i.e the common ground might mess things up.

Any pointers for this type of application would be helpful. I have tried using devices such as a acs712 boards but the current seems to be too low for this application.

Thanks,

Mark

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    How much current do you expect each device to draw?

How much voltage drop can each device tolerate while still yielding acceptable performance?

3. Mark3722

Dec 26, 2014
    the devices will pull between 50 to to 300 ohms. Voltage drops should be less than 0.5 volts.

Thanks for the consideration.

4. Mark3722

Dec 26, 2014