current amp help

minkey01

Joined Jul 23, 2014
hi. could someone help me with a circuit design? this should be pretty easy, but i'm still learning.

i'm trying to amplify my current from 1 mA to around 20mA.

the control signal is 5V when on and can give about 1 mA. coming from this :

http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/es5.html

but needs to trigger this :

http://www.sainsmart.com/4-channel-5v-relay-module-for-pic-arm-avr-dsp-arduino-msp430-ttl-logic.html

which wants about 15-20mA

my power supply is around 5.3 V. so probably just a simple transistor circuit with a resistor before the transistor limiting the current to the 1mA? and then the 5.3V power into the transistor. could someone sketch up the circuit and list part numbers? so i don't foul this thing up.

thanks a bunch!

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Here you go. Note that 900uA makes much more than 10mA at the collector.

R2 is just there for an illustration. It can be almost anything greater than 47Ohms....

202.jpg

Attachments

minkey01

Joined Jul 23, 2014
thanks guys. a few questions though.

#12 : do you know what the out current would be for your recommended circuit? also i see a difference in that the out is before the resistor compared to MikeML's.

MikeML : isn't that output current way too high for my application? i'm looking for around 20 mA out. same question as to why the out is after the resistor compared to #12s before the resistor.

thanks so much!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The 56k resistor keeps the gate from floating if you don't have a ground path through the thing that was supplying 5 volts. The output current is whatever the 150 ohm resistor limits it to after you consider how much voltage the opto-coupler is going to use up and exactly what your supply voltage is. You might need 180 ohms or 220 ohms. Measure the circuit and look at the opto spec sheet.

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010