Creating breadboard circuit

jlauj

Joined Dec 3, 2016
Hello, I am quite new to this whole electronics thing. I have a 3 wire pressure gauge, and I need to measure it output signal onto Labjack U3. I have a circuit schematic of how it should look, however I am quite lost on how to start with making it though breadboard.

It is Figure 2 on this link.
https://labjack.com/support/app-notes/measuring-current

Also, the other question I have is do I have to use a shunt resistor for this?

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Assuming your sensor is a 4-20mA version then you need a shunt as described in your link.
If it is not then you need to provide details of your sensor.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
The sensor provides an output current. The labjack is looking for a voltage input. The shunt is an easy and convenient way of converting the current signal into a voltage signal. It needs only a commonly available resistor. What have you got against using a shunt?

jlauj

Joined Dec 3, 2016
The sensor provides an output current. The labjack is looking for a voltage input. The shunt is an easy and convenient way of converting the current signal into a voltage signal. It needs only a commonly available resistor. What have you got against using a shunt?
I dont have a shunt available

jlauj

Joined Dec 3, 2016
So right now I have a 12 volt power supply in series with the with the sensor and 2 100 ohm resistors. From the output wires of the sensor, I am getting about 2 volts. however, the voltage drop from each resistor is 4 volts, and so the sensor is only getting about 4 volts. There is also no current output from the sensor. What am I doing wrong? I took a picture of my breadboard circuit.

Attachments

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
I can't tell from that picture where the wires go so I don't know whether it is connected correctly.