Creating a Simple Circuit for 12V bulb?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by raziiq, Nov 12, 2009.

1. raziiq

Thread Starter Active Member

Dec 15, 2008
    Hi there. I am very new to electronics. I am trying to light up a Car headlight bulb, i think its 12V through some external supply like a Car battery. Do i need some resistors in between to make this circuit work? Or i can connect them together on a breadboard to make them work?

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    What do you want to use as a power source (remember, not all countries use the same voltage and freq, so don't assume).

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    An automotive headlamp requires a LOT of power to illuminate it. They are typically rated for around 50 to 70 Watts when operating at a nominal 13.8 Volts. This means they will require in the neighborhood of 5 Amperes of current.

A breadboard is not designed for that much power; it will burn up. The small-gauge wiring that you must use to connect to a breadboard will burn up very quickly; if you happen to be holding the wires at the time, your fingers will get burned.

Even brake light bulbs can require around 27 Watts of power; they will get quite warm.

I suggest that for experiments on breadboards, small LEDs are much better. They don't require very much power to produce a good bit of light.

4. raziiq

Dec 15, 2008
    Thanks for the replies. Infact i have just completed the LED project and was trying to move to bulbs which are much more powerful. Never knew car lights are that powerful.

Actually i am trying to make a Lamp for my Room, that can light up to a reasonable brightness. I know getting a power of normal 60Watt bulb is not possible from small bulbs but its fine if i can get a bulb which will take 5 - 10 V voltage.

Anything like this possible?

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Well, an automotive headlamp or fog/driving lamp is right in that range, but they require quite a bit of current.