Create analog function with op amps

Nikos Mparoutis

Joined Oct 8, 2016
Hello ,i am building a system and I have to create the analog signal V(t)=c1*t^2+c2*t - 1/t with op amps and analog components.I have to minimise the cost so i beleive i have to use only one multiplier ,so i want to know if i should use capacitors to store the signals and reuse the multiplier and do the final operations.Or to use buffers or suggest me an other way.
Thanks

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
It could likely be done more easily using digital techniques.
Why must it be done using analog components?
What is the timeframe for "t"?
What are c1 and c2?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
1/t isn't practical unless non-zero time limits are defined. At time zero you would need an infinite voltage :eek:.
Is this a Homework problem?

Nikos Mparoutis

Joined Oct 8, 2016
I stated ,no homework.I finished with homework years before but i have not experience with op amps,it is my first attempt to build somethings big!
I want to keep the cost to minimum but i realizes that it is imposible to use only one multiplier.So i will use 2 multiplier to do the x^2 and now my question is to do the C1*t^2 (c =constant).
I believe to do this C1*T^2 is better with gain manipulation of an op amp than usage of a multiplier.
Lets me think your thoughts.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I want to keep the cost to minimum but i realizes that it is imposible to use only one multiplier.So i will use 2 multiplier to do the x^2 and now my question is to do the C1*t^2 (c =constant).
I believe to do this C1*T^2 is better with gain manipulation of an op amp than usage of a multiplier.
You can do X² with just one multiplier by connecting X to both multiplier inputs (giving X * X).
Then you run the multiplier output through an op amp with a gain of C1.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
@crutschow
Could you dumb this down for me?
I think it's interesting, but I can't imagine how to use C1 (capacitance?) to multiply (time squared).