Crackling Capacitor -Need Advice

Nazim

Joined Nov 17, 2010
I am an amateur and have been optimizing audio components for quite a while. Today while taking out excess led on the leads of the 4700uF 100V bank, the connection to the ground because loose. Did not notice it. When I switched on the amp, it crackled to scare the cat out of the room. I realised and corrected the mistake by soldering it securely. But I rather jumpy about switching it on again. Can the other components in the system be damaged by such an incident.

Nazim

Joined Nov 17, 2010
To THATONE GUY - There was too much lead on one of the capacitors. After I removed the excess, the lead to the ground or copper grid got unsoldered, and when I switched it on the crakling noise and I saw sparks. But apparently no damage seems evident.I resoldered the loose part and I am worried to switch the amp on. It is a TA-N80ES by Sony 200W RMS @ 8 ohms.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
If you did a good job soldering it should be OK. When you say too much lead I assume you are talking the wire, why not just clip it with sidecutters instead?

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
There was too much lead on one of the capacitors. After I removed the excess, the lead to the ground or copper grid got unsoldered, and when I switched it on the crakling noise and I saw sparks. But apparently no damage seems evident.I resoldered the loose part and I am worried to switch the amp on. It is a TA-N80ES by Sony 200W RMS @ 8 ohms.
You have effectively removed the DC smoothing capacitor from the rectifier output and connected the remaining amplifier circuit to this pulsing DC current.

Anything can occur and there is a high chance that your amplifier is fried.

Put in series a 100W filament lamp with the amplifier AC supply and power up. If the lamp stays bright and does not go dim after power ON, your amp has been fried.

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008