CPU Fans in Parallel Problem

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Lancelot, Oct 11, 2013.

1. Lancelot

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 11, 2013
    Hi guys , I am very new to electronics and basically have a little bit of knowledge and im starting to learn things the hard way. Long story short, I tried wiring 7 cpu fans ( 12v , .17 amp ) in parallel in order to help cool off a little project im working on. I choose parallel to save on wiring ( or so I thought ) and to make things a little safer in the event that one fan dies. Basically after wiring them up the fans 1 by one started to die. I hooked them up to a higher voltage input ( 16v , 1Amp) for a second to see if they'd turn on. The "main branches" were made of 18 gauge wire. The cpu fan wires that are connected to these branches are the very very tiny wires and I think this was the problem. My thinking was that because each fan requires .17 amps that having a 1amp input would be enough to run them since they were wired in parallel and the current would ADD due to this and the tiny cpu fans wires were not meant to handle this and burnt the cpu fan boards maybe?. Anyway , I might be very wrong in this and would love some help on if this sounds right and maybe a better way to do this before I waste anymore money. Thanks alot.

Also , if I were to wire them in series instead would I need a input that is 12v * 7 or would there simply be more resistance if they were wired in series. Thanks again

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    First, 7 fans x .17 amps per fan = 1.19 amps, but this did not kill your fans. It might load down the power supply to the point that it overheats, but that did not kill your fans. Wiring them in parallel is the right thing to do. You just have a problem with bad fans.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013