Counting Circuit to 1, 5, 10, 20

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Toshibi, Aug 21, 2009.

1. Toshibi

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 21, 2009
    I'm working on a side project for an employer and I don't really have much experience in electronics. I'm not a complete idiot but I'm a total newbie. Anyhow, What I'm looking at is the need to build a circuit that will either count up or down to 1, 5, 10, or 20 and close a switch momentarily for each count (about a quarter of a second for each). I have most of the basics worked out except the counting and switching bit (if this were a computer program I would have it knocked out before I put down my can of Mt. Dew!).

See, the problem is, it's semi-specialized hardware but it's not amazingly complex stuff but due to the specialization they are charging an arm and a leg for what is probably 10 to 20 dollars worth of components! I figure I could build it myself and save the company some cash.

2. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    A microcontroller would be an easy way to do it.

Beyond that, the easiest circuit might be to take a pair of CD4017B decoded decade counters (or 74HC4017, 74HCT4017, etc.) and cascade them so one counts units and the other counts tens.

Then, it would be a fairly simple matter to use some NAND gates to provide outputs when the right combination of 10's and units come up, then OR all of those outputs. (As an example, when the "2" output on the tens counter is high AND the "0" output on the units counter is high, that's your 20.)

The output of the OR gate could trigger a monostable, such as an LMC555 to make the one second pulse and to reset the two counters. Or, you can make a monostable out of a gate, but leave that for later.

3. Toshibi

Aug 21, 2009
    Thanks for the reply. My research had taken me to the 4000 IC's but trying to figure it all out left me a little confused.