Counter Circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ZKY, Jul 28, 2014.

1. ZKY

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 28, 2014
    Hi all,

I'm new here and I'm a non-native English speaker, so please bear with my poor English..

I'm a polytechnic student currently doing a project, I want to make an enhanced counter circuit with some additional features. Please refer to the circuit diagram that I attached, and let me elaborate more on my circuit:

simple 4033 counter score board circuit.png

WP_002624.jpg

Basically for the counter circuit, I took example by the circuit that I've found in this website: http://homemadecircuitsandschematics.blogspot.sg/2013/11/making-electronic-scoreboard-using-ic.html
    But instead of using the IC CD4033, I used CD4026B. The connection between the IC CD4026B and the 7 segment display is done by a NC contact of a 12V relay because I want the 7 segment display to display other pre-set pattern when the relay is activated. And when the relay is de-activated, the 7 segment display will return to the number that it was just counting.

So here's the problem that I encountered:
    1. the circuit is not stable, sometimes when the relay is deactivated, instead of return to the number that is was just counting, it will return to 0.
    2. when the relay is activated then deactivated, segment 'a' is not working fine (it is very dim, almost unnoticeable).

So please help me! Thank you very much!

ZKY

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

Why not use pin 3 for disabeling the display?
    That way you would not need the relays at all.
    (see the datasheet)

Bertus

ZKY likes this.
  3. ZKY

Jul 28, 2014
    Hi Bertus,

I don't know about this pin, can you tell me what this pin is used for? Thanks!

ZKY

4. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

When you make pin 3 low, all outputs will go low.

Bertus

ZKY likes this.
  5. ZKY

Jul 28, 2014
    Hi,