counter and 7-segment decoder problem

muttu.sarve

Joined Aug 5, 2011
HI every one,
I'm new to pic programming and i'm working on a project. i'm planning to use pic16f877.and please suggest me which oscillator i can use in this project.
the project is go like this...the project consist of 4*4 keyboard, 5 output LEDS, 8 digital outputs to drive another circuit, seven (7) digit 7-segment
display, 1 sesor input which will get a signal from sensor. which is used to find out motor rotation. the sensor is connected to 24v ac motor(1400rpm).
As the shaft of the motor rotate once then the sensor work once. the sesor input is taken as counter and which will be dispay in the 4 digit 7-segment.
as pic16f877 has 32 I/O pins so i need to use 7-segment decoder in this project. the problem is..
1. i want to know the circuit diagram for 7-segment decoder with sample code for this project.
2. when the motor rotates with full speed then within 4second shaft will rotate 100 times so i'm dont know how to program for this. mean while my sensor is working as
counter and i need to display the same count in 7 segment display. so please help me.. its urgent.
thanking you..

muttu.sarve

Joined Aug 5, 2011
thanks for replying.. i got enough time now to work on this project.. as i'm working on it so please help me to solve this issue.. there is a lot more other things to do in this project. i just post the part of my project which is i'm not getting how to solve..

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Given that a straight-up 7-digit 7-segment display has more pins that the number of I/O pins you have, there must be something you haven't told us (or taken into account). Is this a display module with an I/O interface?