Countdown at the press of a button?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Gilbernata, Jan 10, 2015.

1. Gilbernata

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 10, 2015
    Anyone with more DIY experience than I? (I am a complete noob so the answer is yes of course!). I require some assistance with what i wish to do as a cool project.

I do archery at my archery club every weekend. Ive been thinking of some neat tech related ideas for my bow, one of them being an arrow countdown. What i wish for the outcome of this project to be is...

-A small digital display attached to my bow shows the current amount of arrows I have in my quiver. ("Quiver": Basically a belt made to hold your arrows)

-Lets say I have 6 arrows in my quiver.

-I take a shot at a target with my bow, the bowstring triggers a small switch which changes the amount of arrows displayed on the digital display from 6, to 5.

-I shoot again, the display will show i only have 4 arrows now, and i shoot again, 3, again 2, again 1, again 0...

-Reaching zero (0) will trigger a red LED to come on as extra warning that I have no more arrows left.

-After I have shot all 6 of my arrows and the display reads zero (0) I will walk out to the target to retrieve my arrows. The display will read zero (0) until I press a reset switch on the bow.

-When i press the reset switch it automatically brings my arrow count back up to six (6)

-I also want the option to increase or decrease the number of arrows I have. So lets say I add 2 more arrows to my quiver, giving me a total of 8 arrows. I would need a switch for increasing my arrow count on the display, and i would also need a switch for decreasing my arrow count on the display.