Could you take a look at my diagram?

Stuart McWilliams

Joined Aug 24, 2016
I'm currently rewiring my 90 Miata and installing a push-to-start button to replace the key cylinder and go completely keyless, because racecar. The way it will work is there will be two separate switches, first is a toggle on/off and the other will be a momentary switch. The on/off will activate the ignition circuit, and then the momentary is held and fires the starter. I'll have to deal with the ignition lock as well to be completely keyless but that's mechanical.

I'm an amateur when it comes to wiring. I have experience with basic audio wiring and such but did a lot of research and reading to try and draw this up. I was just hoping to get a second opinion on my diagram as well as make sure I'm reading factory wiring diagram correctly.

I included a pic of the wiring diagram for the ignition switch. I drew up the diagram that includes four relays, 2 SPDT and 2 SPST, but I feel like it could be done more efficiently and I also want to make sure my ground leaving the coils of the relays won't short the whole system and if I should use an external 12v source to tie into the ignition switch.MYuZUO9.jpg tTlPouu.png

gerty

Joined Aug 30, 2007
You appear to have your relay coils wired in series. Each coil should have its own ground. what are the symbols above the relays?
edit: Why is there 2 batt designators, do you have two batteries?

Stuart McWilliams

Joined Aug 24, 2016
Yiu appear to have your relay coils wired in series. Each coil should have its own ground. what are the symbols above the relays?
edit: Why is there 2 batt designators, do you have two batteries?
I had them wired in series because both relays would be activating when I hit their respective switches, but I guess I should wire in sequence and have separate grounds? That make sense. The symbols above the two relays in the middle are grounds.