Cost of college in the US vs Other countries

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by poopscoop, Sep 2, 2013.

1. poopscoop

Thread Starter Member

Dec 12, 2012
    I'm a sophomore attending a state school in the US, and I'm old enough to realize the massive expense of such an undertaking.

Tuition and fees run about $5400 a semester for a State resident, and $14,000 out of state.

Figuring $900 a semester for books, at least $6000 for living expenses, and assorted other costs at $1000, one semester of school costs $13300.

Assuming an average of 9 semesters for a degree, school costs 106,000 for a state resident.

Sure, there are scholarships that help out tremendously, but the cost is still completely unrealistic. There are thousands of brilliant people in this country that cannot attend a "good" school, simply because the cost is outrageous. Taking on 40k+ of debt in a questionable economy is out of the question for many people.

I get offended when people brag about their school, as if they're more intelligent than someone with a degree from a lesser school. An expensive degree means you have money, not that you're smart.

Why does college cost so much in this country?
    What did your degree cost?
    How does your country handle higher education?

2. shortbus

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 30, 2009
    We in the US would rather pay some companies to house inmates, rather than invest in schools, of any grade level. Sad but true.

3. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    I got paid £500 a year for mine, although now there are tuition fees. My parents only had to pay accomodation, food and beer money.

4. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    Whatever...

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Dangerous water there. Too close to "political" for comfort.;)
    I couldn't risk a rant...I mean response...on that subject.

6. Delaj

Aug 12, 2013