Correct me about RS232 If wrong?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by cRash1001, Dec 22, 2015.

1. cRash1001

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 22, 2015
    This is my first project and I need to design a RS232 DB-9F port for it. This is my understanding of what I need to do. Correct me if I am wrong!!

So I need UART RS232 full handshake. Since FULL HANDSHAKE requires all DB9 pins except RI and DCD, that leaves me with 6 connections between a RS232 voltage-converter IC and DB9 pin. That means 3 pins for receiving (CTS,RX,DSR) and 3 for transmitting (RTS, TX,DTR). That means i need a RS232 voltage-converter IC with 3/3 Driver/Receiver.
    Is this all I need, or did I miss something?

2. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012
    That sounds about right. Something like a MAX239 or something similar would do the trick.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Is it possible to use software handshake in your application, XON/XOFF , this way you only need a 3 wire cable.
    Gnd. Tx & RX.
    Or for HW handshake usually you can get away with RTS/CTS.
    Max.

4. cRash1001

Dec 22, 2015
    Thank you very much. I am also looking into using odroid for my project, would you happen to know some forum or sites for odriod

5. cRash1001

Dec 22, 2015
    I havent designed upon that. In terms of complexity which out be more complex a software handshake or hardware handshake.

6. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
  7. ian field

Distinguished Member

Oct 27, 2012
    The one I remember is the MAX232, but I don't think it has enough drivers for a full spec D9 port.

The TS seems to be asking about UARTs, there are various types and googling that should get some hits and datasheets.

AFAIK: most UARTs deal entirely with TTL levels so drivers like you mentioned will be needed as well.