Converting Hall effect RPM to varying 5V voltage

snizbatch

Joined Jul 14, 2012
Hi all,
I'm new to the forum. I'm also new to digital electronics. I'm working on building a model aircraft Autopilot out of various break out boards connected to a Raspberry Pi computer. I've got most things working but my snag lies in the one device I'm building from scratch: An RPM translator. I have a US5881 (UA) hall effect sensor from Melexis. I've been able to get the sensor connected in a "2 wire" configuration using a 10K and a 150 ohm resistor to register 4.95v which falls to 0.25v when sensing a magnetic field. I'd like to translate the RPM pulses (between 0 up to about 12,000 RPM) into an analog voltage between 0 and 5v that I can measure using a Pololu mini maestro. For this purpose I've picked up a couple of LM2907N frequency to voltage converters and a couple of LM2917N models also incase they are better suited for the job. I'm afraid I'm going to fry them in trying to figure out how I should wire them up. The datasheet shows various schematics for miscellaneous uses but I have no idea where to start here.

I'm powering the whole system using a single 6.6v LiFE battery with 2 Pololu voltage regulator boards (One 5v and one 3v3) Off of those run:

5v
------------------------------
Raspberry Pi Computer
Mini Maestro 24 Servo controller & analog voltage sensor
Servos
MPXV7002DP Differential Pressure Sensor (Airspeed)
(Hopefully this RPM Sensor)

3v3
------------------------------
MinIMU9-v2 Gyro/Accelerometer/Compass
D2523T Serial GPS
BMP085 Barometric Pressure Sensor (Altimeter)