Converting 5V DC to 120 or 230 V AC

NewCurly

Joined Mar 20, 2016
Hi,

I am new to circuits and I am working with converting 5V DC to 120 or 230 V AC for powering a motor. Following is the circuit that I am using: http://www.sentex.ca/~mec1995/circ/555dcac.html

And I am using a 6-0-6 AC to DC Transformer and connected the secondary coil to the circuit. The supply power is 5V DC and 500 milli amps and I am not getting any out from the transformer. I measured the AC voltage after the Inductor L1 which is 0V and also measured the AC voltage in 3rd pin of 555 timer and before the C4 capacitor which reads as 7 to 8 V AC.

Please can some one tell me whether I am providing less power to the circuit or is there something that I am doing wrong. The C4 capacitor is
2700uF 25V and the L1 is 1uH.

Thanks

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I don't really understand what transformer you are using, but I think that may be the problem. You need a step up filament transformer.

bushrat

Joined Nov 29, 2014
Hi NewCurly,
Transformer (step-down or step-up) transfers power from one side to another. You can step up voltage thousands of times, but power on both sides must be same. So if you want to make 230VAC on output side of transformer and enough power to run a motor, it will come as a suprise that it will not work. For example, if the motor takes 1 A to run at 230VAC, that's 230 Watts (230V X 1A = 230W). This means that you will also need to have 230W on the input. If your input is 5V, then you will need to have 46A of current on your input side (230W / 5V = 46A). I don't think you have components that can handle this much current.

While circuits like this show what can be accomplished with electronics, they are not the greatest of ideas to build blindly.

Please watch this vid

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013