Convert 8 bit TTLogic to RS-232c

kuttiess

Joined Mar 2, 2012
Hi,
Good day to you all.This is Prakash with you.Now im involving in a project,that is to moniter the thickness variation of our producion material during continous process. For that i plan to use three numbers of optical displacement sensors and one omron PLC.
Now im in trouble to communicate the sensors to the PLC, because they are analog sensors with TTL 3 STAGE 8 BIT OUTPUTS.Now i want your guidance to convey the data which is from sensor as 8 bits to PLC through rs-232c with the help of micro controllers.From google and in this forum i came to know MAX232,but it has TTL TX,and TTL RX as input pins. so, i came to understand before MAX232 i need to do something.
Basically i am a Mechanical engineer so,i don't have much experience in electronics.But i hope, your guidance will help me to make that.
I also attach pinout details of that sensor for your reference.

Attachments

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
A microcontroller may be a good way to do this task.

It does not sound difficult for someone skilled in programming microcontrollers, but for someone who is not skilled in them, there would be a lot to learn.

I would suggest that you try to find someone with microcontroller experience to either build and program the microcontroller circuit, or help you to do those tasks.

dimulec

Joined Mar 3, 2012