Conventional Process of Embedded Systems Design

MrBuggy

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Hi Guys,

I'm new to embedded design and I just want to discuss the concept of conventional process a designer would take from start(picking a new micro) to finish (micro on PCB with implemented algorithms and functions).

Lets start of with my situation: I am currently starting an "improvement" project of a previously designed embedded system and one of the improvements I want to implement is the replacement of the current mico ( http://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en/CY8C27443-24SXI/428-1598-ND/679709 ) , a Cypress chip, to an NXP ARM based chip ( http://www.nxp.com/products/microcontrollers/cortex_m0_m0/lpc1100/LPC11C24FBD48.html#overview ). I chose this chip because its ARM based, and it has SPI , CAN functionalities and its cheaper.

I have never experienced this before and would like to hear input.

How much would buying the dev kit of the new chip help me? I think that when the time comes to just buying the chip and installing/implementing on PCB board, I would start at zero again and make my own libraries and protocols to use SPI and CAN. Also, how would programming the chip and running my algorithms (ie. main functionalities) be different?

Thanks,
MrBuggy

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I have stated this before in previous posts.

You don't begin embedded systems design by choosing the microcontroller unit (MCU).
You select the MCU to suit the specifications of the project.

You begin by giving your project a name or title.
Next, you layout all the requirements of the project (not of the MCU).
Next, write the User's Manual. This is one step that is often overlooked and left for the conclusion of the project. With the User's Manual, everyone involved with the project will be able to see completely all the requirements of the project.

You can see that even at this stage the choice of MCU has not yet come into consideration.

MrBuggy

Joined Nov 7, 2013