Controlling AC motor with raspberry

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by LightningAle, Jun 6, 2016.

1. LightningAle

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 6, 2016
    Hi,
    I'm new to these electronic projects, I'm doing it for a project in the company I work in, I have to build a test station for testing a marine impeller within a brass pump used for engine cooling. I'm collecting elements and problems of this project and filling my lack of knoledge. Any help will be appreciated.
    The motor has an inverter (of course) but I don't know which kind of IO protocols I can use. In DC brushless I'd use PWM, in this case the motor is also a brushless but driven by inverter which is plugged to 380V.
    Many thanks

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    More details on the drive would help, any manual for it should show the control methods available, you couldn't just use a 3 phase motor and a VFD?, they usually give various options for control such as analogue, Modbus etc.
    Max.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2016
  3. LightningAle

Jun 6, 2016
    Thanks for reply.

4. LightningAle

Jun 6, 2016
    Hi Max,
    we may use an inverter with modbus or ethercat input like this
    https://industrial.omron.it/it/products/accurax-g5#features
    I had a conversation with the owner of Laika explorer board which told me we might use PWM digital output. He supposed to use the explorer as a PLC but I'm not sure if it works fine. Can you tell me Your opinion?
    Thank you

5. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    The G5 drive appears to use an encoder for feedback?
    Does your motor have one?
    If you just need RPM control and not precise positioning it seems a little over-kill?

I saw limited I/O but I didn't see much opportunity to use as a PLC, unless you have more info.
    If you need a small PLC you could look at a SmartRelay.
    Max.

6. LightningAle

Jun 6, 2016