Controlling a Solenoid Valve via a Windows XPPC

OSidPhoto

Joined Nov 8, 2012
Hello Everyone.

I am a newcomer to this forum. I tried to look around different discussions, but couldn't find one which could be of help on my specific subject.

I am a total novice at electronics, however, I have managed to assemble a few functional DIY circuits using semantics and part lists from the web and assembling these circuits for my personal usage on bread boards... so I can safely say that I can follow instructions and guidance if clearly provided.

I am also an absolute novice at computer programing, except for one odd experience where I tried to use a notebook computer to drive a stepper motor using the computer's printer port and a small circuit on a bread board, while passing the instructions to the board using a downloaded free software.

I am a semi pro photographer and like to do a lot of DIY stuff to be used in my photography, and have recently been trying to build a water drip system that can be controlled precisely to the millisecond.

I am trying to look for a way to control a Solenoid Valve using a Windows XP notebook through its Parallel (printer) or Serial port. (I am not sure if Windows 7 and a USB connection would be capable of doing this or not, hence my selection of an old XP notebook which has serial and printer ports built in)

To achieve this, I believe that I would be needing a software script in basic or some other language, a connection between the computer and a circuit board (a bread board in my case), perhaps one or two timer and other IC's and a few other electronic components, which would finally connect to a Solenoid valve on one end and a power supply on the other.

My usage objective is as follows:
1. There would be a liquid storage source which will be connected to the Solenoid Valve. The storage source would provide a consistent flow/pressure of water/liquid to the valve (Mariotte Siphon).