Controller for Ebay-Bought Sanyo Denki Stepper Motor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ukee1593, Jun 24, 2012.

1. ukee1593

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 24, 2012
    Hi folks, I'm fairly new to electronics so please be patient with me ...

I'm looking at buying a stepper motor as a good way to learn more about controller circuits and similar.

I have found this: Sanyo Denki stepper motor cheap on ebay and thought it would be a good unit to experiment with ... and in the future use to build a home-made CNC machine.

However I have read that certain Sanyo Denki steppers require a special controller chip in order to work ... and cannot be driven from a standard controller. My question is: would I be able to run that particular stepper motor with a PIC or AVR microprocessor and a H-Bridge amplifier??

The diagrams on the ebay listing look like it is a standard stepper and should work ... I'd just like to be sure before I blow $20 on a stepper.

Research I have already done: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/devicedoc/41233a.pdf basic research on driving stepper motors with simple microcontrollers

http://www.instructables.com/id/Drive-a-Stepper-Motor-with-an-AVR-Microprocessor/?ALLSTEPS

Thanks in advance

Luke

2. Sparky49

Jul 16, 2011
    Hi Luke, welcome to the forums! :)

I've not had any experience with the motor you are talking about, but a good thing to do would be to google its part number and look for data sheets on it. If it does need a specific driver ic, then it should have it in the datasheet.

I'll see if I can find anything for you,

Sparky

3. Sparky49

Jul 16, 2011
  4. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    If the motor has only 4 wires you will be forced to use a Bipolar stepper driver.

If it has 5,6 or 8 wires you can use any type of stepper controller, Unipolar or Bipolar.

5. ukee1593

Jun 24, 2012
    Thanks very much for taking a look at this for me.