Control RC car control using computer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by b2s, Aug 12, 2011.

1. b2s

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 12, 2011
    Hello AAC forum!
    This is my first post.
    I have bought a cheap RC car.This is what I intend to do.
    1.Control the car by computer(say the arrow keys of keyboard).I'll be using the existing remote circuit.I need help with the intermediate circuit.
    2.Add a wireless camera(limited range and low resolution,i'll buy one) on to the car and watch the broadcast through my computer.
    3.Control that camera by mouse on my computer.
    4.Add a small radar system(note not the normal sensors) and transmit that through radio to my computer.
    5.To boost the signals of all the above functions for a better range.
    I intend to do this stepwise.
    I have some knowledge on these subjects.-Digital logic,dc circuits,8051,MSP 430,ARM 9,C,C++ and I am familiar with using Multisim,IAR,keil uVision.
    I need a basic idea whether its possible or not?and hardware to be bought.
    I'll do coding myself but the area where i'm struck is giving real time inputs,ie,, from keyboard.Once i burn the code onto the controller i need to send inputs through the computer keyboard..
    Hoping somebody can help me.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2011
  2. jrd210

Feb 12, 2011
    HI there are quite a few available projects for an arduino based RC controlled car and using Xbee it can be computer controlled. Of course there is the Ardone Parrot quadricopter, which I have, which is IPOD or IPHONE flown with FPV (First Person viewing). FOr good priced FPV stuff check out Hobbycity.com they have amazing stuff.

3. nickelflipper

Jun 2, 2010