Control Panel With 70v AC residual voltage .

t00t

Joined Jan 22, 2015
Dear all ,
I am currently studying a really old control panel. There is 60 - 90 v on a turned off temperature controller (which controls a few heaters). Why does the live wire still carry 60 - 90 v. It should be either 230v when ON or 0v when OFF just like the other temperature controllers. There also isn't any thing that is giving off this range of voltages on the control panel. And I think it is this residual voltage that causes my temperature controller lcd screen to spoil .

The connections are as follows ---> Temperature controller - PLC - Heaters

So my question is .

1) where does this voltage comes from ?

2) Could this voltage be messing around with the input and output on the PLC ?

3) Could this be due to the fact that in this panel all the control wires are stacked very closely with power wires ?

Thank You.

Last edited:

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
Do you think you have provided enough information for anyone to answer your question?

According to you the voltage comes from nothing so are you just inviting people who have never seen the panel to guess what this nothing is?

You then refer to a PLC......

Last edited:

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
You leave no details from which I could provide an informed guess, but i can still say this: it could be bogus induced voltage from parallel conductors in conduit, or IT COULD BE REAL, DEADLY VOLTAGE. BE CAREFUL.