Control Leds with a microcontroller?

dragracekid

Joined Jun 5, 2011
I have a little project very simple im sure of making around 3 different leds turning on and off in succession i don't really know where to start i think i need a micro controller but im not very sure where to start any help would be great im sorry if im a noob at this but im trying to learn

dragracekid

Joined Jun 5, 2011
Maybe it is better to explain I'm making a hookah hose that has a Plexiglas part with leds in it. I don't have much room so I'm trying to find bright rgb lights and I want a button that will cycle through 7 basic colors (or the 3 if that is better) and either the same button or another one that makes them blend together through all colors is there an easy way to do this?

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
If you want to create different colors using primary color Red Green Blue ,then you have to control the intensity of the colors from the LEDs.That could be done by controlling the current through the LEDs.

Now in electronic you can control current by many different ways, but I find using microcontrollers is easy, just select any microcontroller with in-built PWM feature i.e... it should have a PWM module and that’s it, using PWM you can control the LED's current.

Good Luck

dragracekid

Joined Jun 5, 2011
ok so i went to rvac (electronics store near me) and they dont have the microcontroller i need all i found was a 555 timer so until i get the correct parts i was just gonna see if i can make a circuit on a breadboard to make the rgb go through the colors is there a schematic i can use? ill search of course but if someone can point me in a direction that would be great

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
can i use this just multiply it by 3? to have 3 knobs to change the intensity of each color in the led?