Confusion in choosing "Beginner to Intermediate" level electronics study book

nirvanbd

Joined Feb 8, 2013
Hi all,
I am a computer programmer and willing to study electronics. I had considerable Maths & Electricity experience from my academic/engineering study. Accordingly as a warm up, I purchased "Fundamentals of Electric Circuits" by Charles Alexander and found it easy to follow. I also have brushed up my Calculus skills and am comfortable with it. As a next step I am considering one of the following books.

Electronic Principles - Malvino
Electronic Devices and Circuit Theory - Boylestad
Fundamentals of Microelectronics - Behzad Razavi
Microelectronic Circuits - Sedra and Smith

From the reviews on the net I guess that "Electronic Principles - Malvino" is too basic and does not really go in depth. On the other hand "Microelectronic Circuits - Sedra, Smith" seems to be over complicated and looks like it is mostly enjoyed by professionals rather than beginners. I am not sure about the other two books though. "Electronic Devices and Circuits Theory" I guess looks promising, but it seems to be very old (its already in 11th edition now) and Razavi's book is completely new and full of apprehensions (for me). I know that I could be wrong with my guesses and that's why I ask for helping me make a reasonable decision.

regards,
Nirvan.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Hi all,
I am a computer programmer and willing to study electronics. I had considerable Maths & Electricity experience from my academic/engineering study. Accordingly as a warm up, I purchased "Fundamentals of Electric Circuits" by Charles Alexander and found it easy to follow. I also have brushed up my Calculus skills and am comfortable with it. As a next step I am considering one of the following books.

Electronic Principles - Malvino
Electronic Devices and Circuit Theory - Boylestad
Fundamentals of Microelectronics - Behzad Razavi
Microelectronic Circuits - Sedra and Smith