Component spice model

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by GOHO, Oct 10, 2013.

  1. GOHO

    Thread Starter New Member

    Oct 10, 2013
    6
    0
    Hi, new member and new to spice models.


    I am looking for a spice model for a NTE 4538b multi vibrator.

    Do I have to make this myself or is there a site I can download the model?

    Thanks
     
  2. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    The Yahoo LTspice User Group has model libraries for free download (not sure about NTE4538b though).
     
  3. Jony130

    AAC Fanatic!

    Feb 17, 2009
    3,957
    1,097
    In this libraries you will find CD4538

    http://valvolodin.narod.ru/soft/extra.rar

    Unpack the archive "extra.rar", using the archive RAR
    Copy "extra1.rar" which is installed in the directories are LTspiceIV. Typically, this directory is "C: \ Program Files \ LTC"
    Unzip "extra1.rar" which is installed in the directories are LTspiceIV
    Finish
     
    absf likes this.
  4. GOHO

    Thread Starter New Member

    Oct 10, 2013
    6
    0
    Jony130, I tried to extract the extra1.rar file but both my winzip and another zip extractor says its corrupt and/or not compatible and will not unzip it... any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  5. GOHO

    Thread Starter New Member

    Oct 10, 2013
    6
    0
    Got it to work, thanks!
     
  6. Jony130

    AAC Fanatic!

    Feb 17, 2009
    3,957
    1,097
    I am glad to hear that
     
  7. cjcgmjs

    New Member

    Oct 2, 2016
    5
    0
    Hi @Jony130 , I downloaded the file and put it under the sub folder. I tried to use 4538, but it doesn't work. Can you give me some idea? Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2016
  8. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    What do you mean it doesn't work?
    Does that you can''t get the IC symbol into the work schematic file or it doesn't work when you trying to run it to simulate the circuit?

    You can put the CD4538.asy file into the dir lib/sym/Digital/ and quit from the program, and run the LTSpice simulation program again, and go to get the CD4538.
     
  9. cjcgmjs

    New Member

    Oct 2, 2016
    5
    0
    Hi ScottWang,

    Thanks for your reply. I'm having trouble simulating it. I put the CD4538.asy in the C:\Users\J**** M***\Documents\LTspiceXVII\lib\sym, and the CD4000.lib file under dir lib/sub, but the system shows "unknown subcircuit" called in when simulating. Can you show me more how you make it to work in more details?

    Thanks very much
     
  10. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    Put your CD4000.lib into:
    \lib\sym\EXTRA\CD4000\CD4000.lib

    If you don't have the directory EXTRA and CD4000 then create them, I think this the directory problem, when you put the CD4000.lib in the right directory then problem will be solved.
     
  11. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    Does your schematic have a ".inc CD4538.sub" directive on it?
     
  12. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    Did you see that there is no such file CD4538.sub in the links of #3, maybe you can upload or link the site to download.
     
  13. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    Scott, if that's directed at me then no, I didn't. I have no intention of downloading a .rar file.
     
  14. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    The extra.rar file including many .lib and .asy, but only 3 .sub files.
     
  15. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    In that case the 'include' directive will need to specify the exact model file name/extension.
     
  16. cjcgmjs

    New Member

    Oct 2, 2016
    5
    0
    I'm totally confused. Scott, I put the entire folder both under \sym and \sub, so there shouldn't be any problem with the directory. Also, there are two directories, one is C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceXVII\lib, another is C:\Users\J*** M***\Documents\LTspiceXVII\lib, which one are you mentioning? When I added other models, I used the latter one and they worked.

    Also, Alec-t, thanks for your advice. Can you give more details about how you make it work? Thanks
     
  17. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    What is the exact model filename for the component you are trying to add?
     
  18. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    @cjcgmjs,
    Your LTSpice working directory should be this C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceXVII\lib, and put the CD4000.lib into the \sym\EXTRA\CD4000\ directory, the directory and file will be like this C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceXVII\lib\sym\EXTRA\CD4000\CD4000.lib, because the sym directory have already created, so you just need create the other two directories as EXTRA and CD4000, the CD4000 directory should be under the EXTRA directory.

    If you want to check which directory will be work then you just modify any one of the CD4000.lib file as CD4000-.lib which directory you putted in and restart the LTSpice program to try, when the CD4000-.lib file in which directory won't affecting the program to get the CD4538 component, and then you can make sure that the other directory will be the working directory.
     
  19. Alec_t

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 17, 2013
    5,773
    1,103
    Scott, LTspiceXVII ignores the Program Files path and instead looks in the Documents path for the model files.
     
  20. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,853
    767
    Are you sure?
    I don't have the LTSpice related files with *.lib in the Documents path, I only putted the file CD4000.lib in the directory C:\Program Files\LTC\LTspiceXVII\lib\sym\EXTRA\CD4000\ and the program could catch the file, so I can put the CD4538 symbol on the working sheet.

    UserNameForLTspice.gif
     
Loading...