Complete noob needs help on linear actuator circuitry!

Nipels

Joined Sep 9, 2014
Let me start by saying my knowledge of circuitry is lacking. I enjoy tinkering with models and radio controlled helicopters and the like. I am currently building my own Cnc router to help me with my projects. That being said, let me explain the application.

I designed my own linear actuator. I want it to act like a hydraulic piston in a piece of heavy equipment. It also needs to be radio controlled.

Basically, when I move the stick on the radio up, I want the actuator to extend. The speed at which it extends needs to be proportional to how far up the sticky on the radio is held. When the actuator reaches the end, I would like a limit switch to shut off movement in that direction, essentially bottoming it out. When the stick is in neutral, nothing happens. When you move the stick down, the actuator will retract.

Is this possible? I can post images of the CAD actuator I plan on building. I can't pull the trigger on the parts until I know that I can make it do what I need to. Thank you!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Of course it is possible. The standard mode of operation with any RC servo mechanism is linear displacement controlled by a joystick.
This can be converted to speed control

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If the device is hydraulically actuated then you need some kind of feedback to indicate the position and speed, there are hydraulic servo valves, but very expensive, you will also need some kind of limit switches at either end of the stroke, unless going servo valve.
The servo's used in CNC and industrial machinery are quite different than the simple RC type of control.
I am curious as to why you need radio control unless an extremely large table, also what is the system controller you are using?
Max.

Nipels

Joined Sep 9, 2014
Of course it is possible. The standard mode of operation with any RC servo mechanism is linear displacement controlled by a joystick.