Complete noob - How can I make a simple device that upon the removal of a contact beeps?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by JohnConnor, Jun 18, 2015.

1. JohnConnor

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 18, 2015
    My house has two floors, my two toddlers live on the second floor. The stairs going down is closed by a small metal door of around three feet high. The door has a metal rod that is removed to open it. However, people tend to forget to lock the door with the metal rod. I want to make and install a device similar to a walmark card that when the rod makes no contact with the device it will beep as a reminder. I am sorry if I am not painting a perfect picture here. I just would like to learn to do this. However, as stated in the title, I am a complete noob. I can learn though, I know that, hehe. thanks!

2. nerdegutta

Dec 15, 2009
    Hi, and welcome.

I think this is doable with a 555 ic in astable config. Can you post a picture of the locking mechanism?

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    The metal rod and the place it lands are the parts to make a crude switch. The challenge is in making a beeper respond to that lack of connection when the rod is not replaced properly. This might be done with a battery and a relay or an electronic buzzer arranged to start with the absence of a connection. nerdgutta started with the electronic approach. It is electrically much more efficient than a cheap mechanical buzzer and relay, but more complicated.

Edit: I just noticed your name. Is your mother named Sarah?
    (If you know the reference, you might get a laugh out of that last question.)

Last edited: Jun 18, 2015
  4. JohnConnor

Jun 18, 2015
    [​IMG]

5. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    One option would be two micro switches independently operated by the Gate and Rod
    Mounted so that if Gate is in place and the Rod is not the battery operated bleeper sounds.
    Micro switches normally have a change over set of contacts.

EDIT:
    Switch wiring option