Complete newb.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by DfctvDtctv, Jan 14, 2011.

1. DfctvDtctv

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 14, 2011
    Hey all, just pushing myself out into the open to get introduced with whoever. Recently decided to take up circuitry, or building stuff in general as a hobby. I was wondering though, some of the stuff I have in mind to create so far are things easily found in stores, stuff like cameras, and other gadgets that seem to cost quite the lot if you want the good stuff; so what I am wondering is, would I be better off just buying the stuff? Or could it come out cheaper if it's homemade, if, hypothetically, I were a pro with the stuff?

I'm also thinking about taking some kind of course when I start college, though I haven't really looked into it yet; would I learn about the same amount by simply searching the stuff up?

2. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Most stuff that requires any sort of accuracy, like camera (especially SLR's) are much cheaper to buy than build (with the same quality)
    Same with inverters and computers.

You really need quite expensive equipment to build and/or calibrate these things.

Also, you have to consider, buying parts in small quantities in the US (you didn't mention where your from) is never going to be as cheap as buying a product made from the components in China.

1 capacitor may cost .75cents. But 10,000 of them cost .03 cents.

Also, etching a PCB and soldering the components, is a loss (all depending if you value the time you spend on building it).

If you want to do this, I would recommend kits.

Kits are often a cheaper that a "built" option, but still gives you the satisfaction of building it.

3. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    First off there is no way a newbie is going to be able to match the quality of manufacturing something like a digital camera. Just tying to fab the container would be a major undertaking.