Complete beginner - pulling hair out - 18f13k22

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by ashumu, Nov 25, 2010.

1. ashumu

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 25, 2010
    Hello all,

I've programmed in C18 before briefly using tutorials and managed to do some basics. However, I've now got an 18F13K22 and I've found I'm not even capable of getting it to do the basics. I'm using mplab IDE v8.60 and microchips c18 compiler. I've read through the compiler, pic and mplab manuals as well as going through the entire 18f13k22.h file to try and get an idea as to what is going on.

So far I have this:

Code ( (Unknown Language)):
    1. #include <p18f13k22.h>
    5. void main(){
    7. TRISA = 0;
    8. TRISB = 0;
    11. while(1){
    13. PORTBbits.RB7 = 1;
    14. PORTAbits.RA0 = 1;
    16. }
    17. }
    Now I would assume that this, being such a basic and trivial task, would be simple enough to get first try. Alas, a whole day of reading, programming and stressing out has led me to believe that I'm missing some important details as there is zero output on either of those pins when it is hooked up. I can't find a document or source of info on this PIC that doesn't seem to either be missing out all the basics that I need or simply in another language.

Can anyone please shed some light on this issue?
  2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    Does anything change if you replace "PORT" with "LAT"?
    Worth a shot.
  3. ashumu

Nov 25, 2010
    Just gives me an error :( thanks for the quick response though
  4. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    I don't use C (as you can probably tell)
    Maybe if LATbits isn't defined something like this will work:
    The output LATches are a safer way of outputting.
    LATB.7 = 1;
    LATA.0 = 1;
  5. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009